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COMPLIANCE-FAILURE TO RENEW LICENSE - UNLAWFUL PRACTICE

BOARD ACTION
Renewal Late fees After
Applicable Law Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Deadline Initial Late Fee January 31st.
1. Failure to Renew |S: 4701.04, 4701.16(A)(11), 701.16(A)(11) $500 if licensee Revocation, October 31st [November 1st - (8300: 1-4 CPA's)
R: Chapter 4701-13 complies with cease (Revocation applies [($30 fee) January 31st ($150:|($720:5-9 CPA's)

Firm Registration-
Attest firms

Practices for a time without renewing and
subsequently renews or to respondent who
continues to practice without a license.

and desist. $2,000 if
licensee does not
comply with cease and
desist.

to both firm and
individual license.)

1-4 CPA's) ($360: 5-
9 CPA's) {$900:
10+CPA's)

($1,800: 10+ CPA's)

2. Failure to Renew
Firm Registration -
Non-attest firms

S: 4701.04, 4701.16{(A)(11), 4701.16(A)}(9)
R: Chapter 4701-13

Practices for a time without renewing and
subsequently renews or to respondent who
continues to practice without a license.

$500 if licensee
complies with cease
and desist. $2,000 if
licensee does not
comply with cease and
desist.

Revocation,
(Revocation applies
to both firm and
individual license.)

July 31st
(830 fee)

August 1st -
January 31st ($150:
1-4 CPA's) ($360: 5-
9 CPA's) ($900:
10+CPA's)

(§300: 1-4 CPA's)
(§720:5-9 CPA's)
{$1,800: 10+ CPA's)

3, Failure to Renew
Individual CPA
License within One
Year

S: 4701.10(F), 4701.16(A)(9)
R: N/A

CPA Certificate placed
in administrative
suspension until all late
fees are paid.

Applicable only if
additional violation
is found.

4. Unlawful Practice-

Former Public
Accounting Firm

S:4701.14(C)
R: N/A

Applies to respondent whose CPA certificate and
firm registration have been revoked and who
continues to practice without a license.

File charges against
respondent with
appropriate local
prosecutor or police
department.

5. Unlawful Practice-

Suspended Certified
Public Accountant

S:4701.14(A)
R: N/A

Applies to respondent who has not renewed the
Ohio permit or Ohio registration for at least one
year, who is suspended pursuant to section
4701.10, and continues to practice without a
license.

$500 if licensee
complies with cease
and desist. $2,000 if
licensee does not
comply with cease and
desist. Plus PSR course.

Revocation,
Revocation applies
to firm registration
and individual CPA
certificates of firm
owners.

Note: Penalty assumed to be maximum unless
mitigating circumstances are applicable,




COMPLIANCE-FAILURE TO RENEW LICENSE - UNLAWFUL PRACTICE

BOARD ACTION

Applicable Law

Minimum Penalty

Maximum Penalty

Late fees After
January 31st.

Renewal

Deadline Initial Late Fee

6. Unlawful Practice-
Unlicensed
Individual of Firm

S:4701.14(A)
R: N/A

Applies to respondent who was never licensed
by the Board, and who assumes or uses the title
certified public accountant, CPA public
accountant, or PA.

File charges against
respondent with
appropriate local
prosecutor or police
department.

7. Unlawful Practice-
Failure to Obtain a
Firm Registration

S: 4701.4(A)
R: N/A

Applies to respondent who has never obtained a
firm registration pursuant to section 4701.04,
and who is practicing public accounting without
a license.

$500 if licensee
complies with cease
and desist. $2,000 if
licensee does not
comply with cease and

desist. Plus PSR course.

Revocation,
(Revocation applies
to both firm and
individual license.)

Note: Penalty assumed to be minimum unless
aggravating circumstances are applicable. Conditions if
maximum penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed,
the following condition may be imposed for
cancellation of revocation order. Continuing education
courses.

8. Unlawful Practice-
Failure to Obtain an
Ohio Permit

S: 4701.4(A)
R: N/A

Applies to respondent who is holding out to the
public as a CPA, but who does not hold an Ohio
permit.

$500 if licensee
complies with cease
and desist. $2,000 if
licensee does not
comply with cease and

desist. Plus PSR course.

Revocation,
(Revocation applies
to both firm and
individual license.)

Note: Penalty assumed to be minimum unless
aggravating circumstances are applicable. Conditions if
maximum penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed,
the following condition may be imposed for
cancellation of revocation order. Continuing education
courses.




COMPLIANCE-FAILURE TO RENEW LICENSE - ADMINISTRATIVE VIOLATIONS

BOARD ACTION

Applicable Law

Minimum Penalty

Maximum Penalty

Additional Notes:

9. Failure to Meet
Requirements for
Ownership of a Public
Accounting Firm

S:4701.04
R:4701-13

Applies to the owner(s) in a public
accounting firm who practice(s) for a
time without the proper license
(5:4701.04)

$500 if Licensee complies with
cease and desist. $2,000 if
Licensee does not comply with
cease and desist. Plus PSR
course.

Revocation,
(Revocation applies
to both firm and
individual License.)

Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the
following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
revocation order. Continuing education courses.

10. Failure to Meet
Non-licensee
Ownership
Requirements by a
Public Accounting
Firm

S:4701.04
R:4701-11-10, 4701-15-13

Applies to the owner(s) in a public
accounting firm who practice(s) for a
time without the proper license.

$500 if Licensee complies with
cease and desist. $2,000 if LC
does not comply with cease and
desist. Plus PSR course.

Revocation,
(Revocation applies
to both firm and
individual License.)

Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the
following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
revocation order. Continuing education courses.

11. Continuing
Education Verification
Violation

S:4701.06
R:4701-15-12

Applies to the owner(s) in a public
accounting firm who practice(s) for a
time without the proper license.

Correction of violation; assessment
of late fee applicable to the date
the licensee completes the
continuing education requirement.
$500 if LC complies with cease and
desist. $2,000 if LC does not comply
with cease and desist. Plus PSR
course, The Board may assess an
additional fine based upon the
number of continuing education
credits the respondent lacks-
minimum fine $10 for each credit
the licensee is short of the required
amount,

Revocation of CPA
certificate.

Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the
following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
revocation order. Continuing education courses.

12. Willful Violation of
a Rule or Regulation
Promulgated by the
Board

S: 4701.16(A)4)
R: Various

See specific statute of
regulation violated for
recommended penalty.




COMPLIANCE-FAILURE TO RENEW LICENSE - ADMINISTRATIVE VIOLATIONS

BOARD ACTION

Applicable Law

Minimum Penalty

Maximum Penalty

Additional Notes:

13. Certified Public
Accountant
Examination
Irregularities

S: 4701.16(A)(4)
R: 4701-5-05

Applies primarily to suspected cheating
and related irregularities concerning the
CPA examination.

Probationary conditions on
initial license or revocation
stayed with conditions. $500
min., plus PSR course.

Denial of admission
to examination or
revocation of CPA
certificate/license if
issued.

Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
circumstances are applicable.

14. Failure to Notify [S:4701.16(A)(4) PSR course $500 Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
Board of Change of  |R:4701-11-07 circumstances are applicable.
Address
15. Failure to Respond |S: 4701.16(A)(4) $500 if Licensee complies with  [Revocation Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
to Board R:4701-11-17 cease and desist. $2,000 if circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
Communhication Licensee does not comply with penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the
cease and desist. Plus PSR following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
course. revocation order. Continuing education courses.
16. Certification of S$:4701.16(A)(10) Correction of violation, $500 Revocation Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
Applicant's R:4701-7-01 min. plus PSR course. circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
Experience by an penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the
Unlicensed CPA following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
revocation order. Continuing education courses.
17. Failure to obtain |S:4701.04, 4701.16(A)(11) Correction of violation, $500 Revocation Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
Professional Liability |R:4701-13-01 min. plus PSR course. circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
Insurance Applies to respondent who fails to penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the
maintain the required professional following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
liability insurance necessary for revocation order. Continuing education courses.
registration as a public accounting firm.
18. Failure to Comply [S:4701.16(A)(10) Compliance with Board order, |Revocation Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
with Board R: N/A $500 min. plus PSR course. circumstances are applicable. If revocation stayed, the
Disciplinary Order following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
revocation order. Accelerated peer review, continuing
education courses. Failure to comply with a final order
in a citation may result in another hearing, probably
resulting in revocation of CPA certificate/firm License.
19. Failure of a Public |S: 4701.16(A)(11) Compliance with Board Order, |Revocation Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating

Accounting Firm to
Inform the Board of
an Adverse or Second
Modified Peer Review
Report

R:4701-13-11

$2,500 plus PSR course.

circumstances are applicable. If revocation stayed, the
following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
revocation order. Continuing education courses.




ETHICAL VIOLATIONS

BOARD ACTION
Applicable Law Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Additional Notes:
20. Retention of S:4701.16 (A)(4) Reprimand, $500 Revocation Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
Client Records R: 4701-11-06 minimum, plus PSR circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
Applies to respondent who has failed |course. penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the
to return client documents within 30 condition imposed for cancellation of revocation order.
days of written request. Additional penalty if warranted and, continuing
education courses.
21. Commissions S:4701.16(A)(4) Correction of Violation, Revocation Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
R:4701-11-04 $500 minimum, plus PSR circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
Applies to respondent who receives course. penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the
illegal commissions or fails to disclose following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
legal commissions to clients. revocation order. Continuing education courses.
22. Contingent Fees |[S: 4701.16(A)(4) Correction of Violation, Revocation Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
R:4701-11-03 $500 minimum, plus PSR circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
Applies to respondent who receives course, penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the
illegal contingent fees or fails to following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
disclose legal contingent fees to clients. revocation order. Continuing education courses.
23. Report Not S: 4701.16(A)(4) $1,000 minimum, plus Revocation Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
Conforming to R: 4701-9 series PSR course. circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
Professional penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the
Standards following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
revocation order. Continuing education courses.
24. Substandard S: 4701.16(A)(11), 4701.16(A)(4), $1,000 minimum, plus Revocation Penaity assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
Peer Review Report [4701.04(H) PSR course. circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
R: 4701-9 series penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the
following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
revocation order. Continuing education courses.
Accelerated peer review.




ETHICAL VIOLATIONS

BOARD ACTION
Applicable Law Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty Additional Notes:
25. Unauthorized S:4701.16(A){(4) Reprimand, $500 Revocation Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
Disclosure of R:4701-11-02 minimum, plus PSR circumstances are applicable. If revocation stayed, the
Confidential course. following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
Information revocation order. Continuing education courses.
26. Conflict of S:4701.16(A)(4) Reprimand, $500 Revocation Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
Interest R:4701-9-01 minimum, plus PSR circumstances are applicable. If revocation stayed, the
Applies to civil judgments against CPAs |course. following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
in which a key component of the case revocation order. Continuing education courses.
was conflict of interest.
27. Failure to S: 4701.16(A){(4) Administrative fine Revocation Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
Comply with R: 4701-9 $1,000 minimum, plus circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
Professional PSR course. penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the
Standards following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
revocation order. Continuing education courses.
Accelerated peer review.
28. Independence  [S: 4701.16(A)(4) Correction of violation, Revocation Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
R:4701-11-01 $500 min. plus PSR circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
Applies to licensee who violates the course. penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the
independence rules as set forth by the following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
Securities and Exchange Commission, revocation order. Continuing education courses.
the Independence Standards Board,
and the American Institute of Certified
Public Accountants.
29. Unlawful S: 4701.16(A)(10) Correction of violation, Revocation Penalty assumed to be minimum unless aggravating
Advertising R:4701-11-09 $500 min. plus PSR circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
Applies to licensee who violates the course. penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the
provisions of the consumer and following condition may be imposed for cancellation of
deceptive trade practices act and who revocation order. Continuing education courses.
advertises in an inherently misleading
manner, or to civil judgments in which
a key component of the case was
unlawful advertising.




LEGAL VIOLATIONS

BOARD ACTION

Applicable Law Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty |[Additional Notes:
30. Conviction of any Crime |S: 4701.16 (A}(4) Revocation stayed, $1,000 Revocation Board action as a result of felony convictions or several
Substantially Related to the [R: N/A minimum, plus PSR course. misdemeanor convictions: Penalty assumed to be
Qualifications, Functions, ' maximum unless mitigating circumstances are applicable.
and Duties of a CPA/PA Former licensee cannot reapply until after completion of all
(involving dishonesty or court-ordered conditions including post-release sanctions
fraud) and/or restitution, if applicable. Conditions if maximum

penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the condition
imposed for cancellation of revocation order. Additional
penalty if warranted and, continuing education courses.
Board action as a result of a single misdemeanor
conviction: In the case of a single misdemeanor violation,
tailor probation to circumstance, adjusting the required
conditions accordingly and choosing appropriate warranted
conditions form the above list.

31. Fraud or Deceit in S: 4701.16(A)(1) Revocation stayed, $1,000 Revocation or Penalty assumed to be minimum unless mitigating

Obtaining R: N/A minimum, plus PSR course. | application denied. [circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum

Certificate/Permit/Registrat penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the following

ion (Also applicable to condition may be imposed for cancellation of revocation

falsification of continuing order. Continuing education courses.

education reports)

32, Dishonesty, Fraud or S: 4701.16(A)(2) Revocation stayed, $1,000 Revocation Penalty assumed to be maximum unless mitigating

Gross Negligence in the R: N/A minimum, plus PSR course. circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum

Practice of Public penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the following

Accounting condition may be imposed for cancellation of revocation
order. Continuing education courses. Accelerated peer
review.

33. Cancellation, S:4701.16(A)(7) $1,000 minimum, plus PSR Revocation Penalty assumed to be minimum unless mitigating

Revocation, or Suspension [R: N/A course. circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum

of CPA certificate by any penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the following

other State or Foreign condition may be imposed for cancellation of revocation

Country order. Continuing education courses.

34, Conviction of a Felony  |S: 4701.16(A)(5) Revocation stayed, $1,000 Revocation Penalty assumed to be maximum unless mitigating

R: N/A minimum, plus PSR course. circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum

penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the following
condition may be imposed for cancellation of revocation
order. Continuing education courses.




LEGAL VIOLATIONS

BOARD ACTION

Applicable Law

Minimum Penalty

Maximum Penalty

Additional Notes:

35. Suspension or
Revocation of the Right to
Practice before any
Governmental Body or
Agency

S: 4701.16{(A}8)
R: N/A

Applies generally to
licensees suspended from
the right to practice
before the Securities and
Exchange Commission or
Internal Revenue Service,

Revocation stayed, $1,000
minimum, plus PSR course.

Revocation

Penalty assumed to be maximum unless mitigating
circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
penalty is nhot invoked. If revocation stayed, the following
condition may be imposed for cancellation of revocation
order. Continuing education courses. Accelerated peer
review.

36. Fiscal Dishonesty or
Breach of Fiduciary
Responsibility of any kind

S: 4701.16(A)(4),
4701.16(A)(10)

R: 4701-9-01, 4701-9-02
Applies to civil judgments
against CPAs in which a
key component of the

Administrative fine $1,000
minimum, plus PSR course,

Revocation

Penalty assumed to be minimum unless mitigating
circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the following
condition may be imposed for cancellation of revocation
order. Continuing education courses. Accelerated peer
review.

37. Knowing Preparation,
Publication, or
Dissemination of False,
Fraudulent, or Materially
Misleading Financial
Statements, Report or
Information

S: 4701.16(A)(4),
4701.16(A)(10)

R: 4701-9-01, 4701-9-02
Applies to civil judgments
against CPAs in which a
key component of the
case was the CPA's
knowing preparation,
publication, or

Revocation stayed, $1,000
minimum, plus PSR course.

Revocation

Penalty assumed to be minimum unless mitigating
circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the following
condition may be imposed for cancellation of revocation
order. Continuing education courses. Accelerated peer
review.

38. Embezzlement, Theft,
Misappropriation of Funds
or Property, or Obtaining
Money, Property or other
Valuable Consideration by
Fraudulent Means or False
Pretenses.

S: 4701.16(A)(4),
4701.16(A){10)

R:4701-9-01, 4701-9-02
Applies to civil judgments
against CPAs in which a
key component of the
case was embezzlement,
theft, misappropriation of
funds or property, or

Revocation stayed, $1,000
minimum, plus PSR course.

Revocation

Penalty assumed to be minimum unless mitigating
circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the following
condition may be imposed for cancellation of revocation
order, Continuing education courses. Accelerated peer
review,

39, Conduct discreditable to
the public accounting
profession or to the holder
of an Ohio permit, Ohio
registration, or firm
registration.

S: 4701.16(A)(10)
R: N/A

Applies to cases involving
one or more violations
not previously classified.

Revocation stayed, $1,000
minimum, plus PSR course.

Revocation

Penalty assumed to be minimum unless mitigating
circumstances are applicable. Conditions if maximum
penalty is not invoked. If revocation stayed, the following
condition may be imposed for cancellation of revocation
order. Continuing education courses. Accelerated peer
review.




